Skip to content

Top Hat and Tales of the Riverbank

December 3, 2012

In the past six years I’ve performed in all sorts of places in all sorts of circumstances.  Regular readers of my Adventures in Easy Listening will know that as well as performing in swish London hotels and staggeringly splendid castles I’ve sung in marquees, undercrofts, saloons, barns, gardens, village halls, cafes and even an old custard factory, but never on a river bank…  until I was booked to sing at a Golden Wedding Anniversary party at The Lion Hotel in Leintwardine back in July.

The Lion Hotel in Leintwardine, Shropshire

The Lion is situated on the banks of the River Teme in the charming village of Leintwardine, Shropshire on the River Teme.  And when I say situated on the banks I mean on the banks!  Here is the view from where I was singing:

My view of the River Teme at The Lion Hotel, Leintwardine

Golden wedding party at The Lion

The weather was glorious which meant that the atmosphere in the marquee was fantastic.

The marquee set up at The Lion Hotel, Shropshire

Vintage vocalist's view of Golden Wedding celebration party in marquee

The wonderful warm weather meant that the marquee was open on three sides giving some of the most interesting views I’ve ever had whilst performing!

The bridge over the River Teme at Leintwardine, Shropshire

Sheep grazing on the banks of the river Teme in Shropshire

The whole afternoon was such a romantic affair.  The couple celebrating their Golden Wedding Anniversary had held their wedding reception at The Lion on the very same day fifty years earlier.  They were surrounded by family and friends and it was a pleasure to be part of the celebrations.

Find out more about The Lion Hotel by visiting www.thelionleintwardine.co.uk.

For more information about the entertainment I could provide for your anniversary celebration or party visit www.simonpartridge.com.  You can find information on my fees, listen to song clips and read testimonials from previous clients.

No comments yet

Leave a comment