Skip to content

In the Arms of Love

January 6, 2015

Once upon a time the idea of being booked to sing in a pub would have filled an entertainer with unease if not downright dread. But the public house has moved on a good deal since those dark, sawdust-floored days and The County Arms in the London borough of Wandsworth is a shining example of what the modern inn can be when flair an imagination are put to work.

County Arms pub, Wandsworth, London

I was booked to sing during the wedding breakfast of Nick and Michelle which was held in the pub’s light and welcoming downstairs function room.

County Arms' function room Wedding breakfast in a London pub?Light and welcoming function room London pub

The room was beautifully decorated and I particularly liked this bunting made from prints of vintage sheet music:

Vintage sheet music bunting

Big love!

Wedding flowers

There was a whole table full of sweet treats including these delicious (yes, I was allowed one once I had finished!)  macarons:

French macarons

Nick and Michelle - the bride and groom

An intmate wedding ceremony in the room upstairs was followed by a drinks reception in the pub’s charming beer garden after which the guests sat down to dine with myself for musical accompaniment.

Singing at The County Arms

Vintage wedding singer in London

Nick and Michelle’s wedding cake topper was absolutely wonderful.  Made for them by their friend and cake topper creator extraordinaire Laura Hambleton it (literally) topped the wedding breakfast off perfectly.

Handmade wedding cake topper

Cutting the cake

Congratulations to Nick and Michelle – I wish you every happiness for the future.  Thanks for letting me be part of such a wonderful day!

Find out more about how I can add some elegant live music to your wedding or event by visting my website www.simonpartridge.com

PICTURE CREDIT:  Some of the photos in this post (the five decent ones!) were taken by Jordan of Michelle Lindsell Photography.  My thanks for letting me use the shots.

No comments yet

Leave a comment